Fraternities and Sororities

The growing number of student groups, fraternities, and sororities at the U of A can play a vibrant role in undergraduate student life.

The first University of Alberta fraternity was charted in 1930 and, today, there are twelve fraternities and six sororities made up of more than 600 students. These 18 chapters are governed by one of two councils: the Interfraternity Council and the Panhellenic Council

Fraternities and sororities are recognized as University of Alberta Student Groups by the Office of the Dean of Students and the Students' Union. Like all other University Student Groups, fraternities and sororities reapply for University and Students' Union recognition annually and are supported by Student Group Services and the Office of the Dean of Students. Fraternities and sororities are also supported by local alumni advisors and their international headquarters.

For more information on fraternities and sororities at the University of Alberta, please contact the Office of the Dean of Students at


Local chapter   International Website
Delta Chi
Delta Kappa Epsilon
Delta Upsilon
Kappa Sigma
Lambda Chi Alpha
Phi Delta Theta
Phi Gamma Delta
Pi Kappa Alpha
Theta Chi
Zeta Psi


Local chapters   International Website 
Alpha Gamma Delta
Alpha Psi   n/a
Delta Gamma
Kappa Alpha Theta
Pi Beta Phi